Indiana is one of the most lenient states when it comes to fireworks. At every state border and off of major interstate exits, large firework stores sit year-round and pop up in the summer due to the state's laws.
However, if large fireworks are purchased at one of these stores, consumers must sign an agreement saying they won't take them out-of-state.
Other than keeping them in Indiana, there are also other laws that need to be followed for a safe, legal and fun Fourth of July celebration.
- Fireworks can only be used in specific locations.
For example, on the user’s property or on the property of someone who has consented to the use of fireworks on that property. This means many college students who rent property would need permission from a landlord before using fireworks.
Fireworks can also be used at special discharge locations, meaning a place designated for the discharge of consumer fireworks under temporary policies of the State Fire Marshal.
- Fireworks can only be used at certain times of the day.
From June 29 to July 9, fireworks can be fired from 5 p.m. until two hours after sunset. On holidays, fireworks can be used between the hours of 10 a.m. and midnight, including Memorial Day, the Fourth of July, Labor Day and New Year's Eve. Otherwise, on any day, fireworks can be used between 9 a.m. and 11 p.m., but local ordinances may limit this.
- Fireworks can only be purchased by people over the age of 18. However, children are legally able to use or possess fireworks when an adult is present.
When firework laws are broken, harsh penalties can affect the users, according to Indiana State Fire Marshal Jim Greeson.
- A person using fireworks anywhere other than the legal places above could face a maximum fine of $500 per infraction.
- Damaging someone else’s property with fireworks could result in a fine of $5,000, as well as one year in prison.
- Someone recklessly, knowingly or intentionally using fireworks causing the serious injury or death of someone else could face imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.
- Anyone under the age of 18 possessing or using fireworks without the presence of an adult could face a fine of $500 per infraction.