Ball State football released its 2016 schedule Monday.

The Cardinals will play only five home games and seven road games, including one at Indiana University on Sept. 10. Ball State hasn’t played IU since 2012 but has won its last three games against the Hoosiers.

2016 Schedule (* indicates MAC game)

Friday/Saturday, Sept. 2/3 at Georgia State

Saturday, Sept. 10 at Indiana

Saturday, Sept. 17 vs. Eastern Kentucky (Family Weekend)

Saturday, Sept. 24 at Florida Atlantic

Saturday, Oct. 1 vs. Northern Illinois*

Saturday, Oct. 8 at Central Michigan*

Saturday, Oct. 15 at Buffalo*

Saturday, Oct. 22 vs. Akron* (Homecoming)

Tuesday, Nov. 1 vs. Western Michigan*

Tuesday, Nov. 8 vs. Eastern Michigan*

Wednesday, Nov. 16 at Toledo*

Tuesday, Nov. 22 at Miami*

Prior to that, the Ball State travels to Atlanta, Ga., to face off against a Georgia State team who upset the Cardinals at Scheumann Stadium last year. 

Family Weekend will coincide with Ball State’s home opener, when FCS Eastern Kentucky travels to Scheumann Stadium on Sept. 17.

Mid-American Conference play starts Oct. 1 at home against Northern Illinois.

The Cardinals' last four games, all on either Tuesdays or Wednesdays, are also scheduled to be broadcast nationally on either ESPN2, ESPNU or CBS Sports Network.

Ball State's Homecoming game will be Oct. 22 against Akron.