Four seniors have been selected to be Ball State football's captains in 2016 — linebacker Sean Wiggins, wide receiver KeVonn Mabon, defensive back Martez Hester and running back Teddy Williamson.

Wiggins was first team All-Mid-American Conference in 2015. He was second on the team and 14th in the league with 95 tackles. He also tied for the team led with two interceptions, both coming against Eastern Michigan in the Cardinals' 28-17 victory on Sept. 19, 2015.

Mabon finished the 2015 season with 70 receptions for 745 receiving yards, the second-highest totals on the team. He also ranked 16th nationally with 27.2 yards per kickoff return, and on Oct. 24, 2015, he recorded the first Ball State kickoff return touchdown in five seasons.

2016 football schedule (* indicates MAC opponent)

Friday, Sept. 2 at Georgia State

Saturday, Sept. 10 at Indiana

Saturday, Sept. 17 vs. Eastern Kentucky (Family Weekend)

Saturday, Sept. 24 at Florida Atlantic

Saturday, Oct. 1 vs. Northern Illinois*

Saturday, Oct. 8 at Central Michigan*

Saturday, Oct. 15 at Buffalo*

Saturday, Oct. 22 vs. Akron* (Homecoming)

Tuesday, Nov. 1 vs. Western Michigan*

Tuesday, Nov. 8 vs. Eastern Michigan*

Wednesday, Nov. 16 at Toledo*

Tuesday, Nov. 22 at Miami*

Hester was the only defensive player to start all 12 games for the Cardinals last season. He finished third on the team with 78 tackles.

Williamson was fourth on the team with 40 carries and 130 rushing yards in 2015. He ran for a season-high 74 yards in last season's opener, a 48-36 win over the Virginia Military Institute on Sept. 3.

Ball State will open the 2016 season against Georgia State in Atlanta on Sept. 2, followed by a road trip to Bloomington on Sept. 10 to play Indiana University. The home opener against Eastern Kentucky will be Sept. 17.